Workers' Compensation
Winter 2019

Welcoming New Commissioners

James R. Forrester

Governor Hogan appointed James R. Forrester to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission in July 2018.  Commissioner Forrester received his undergraduate degree from Randolph-Macon College.  He later graduated from the University of Baltimore’s Merrick School of Business and School of Law, earning a Master of Business Administration in 1995 and a Juris Doctor in 1998, with honors.

Before joining the Commission, in 1999, then-attorney Forrester began work as an associate claims attorney at the Law Offices of Ileen M. Ticer.  Thereafter, he joined the Workers’ Compensation and Employers’ Liability Department at Semmes Bowen & Semmes, P.C., where he was elected principal in 2009.

Commissioner Forrester has concentrated in the area of workers’ compensation and has appeared before all levels of the Maryland judiciary.  He has practiced in the District of Columbia, where he is also licensed.

Commissioner Forrester holds leadership roles in several civic organizations.  He has also served as president and member of the Executive Board of the Baltimore Claims Association as well as co-Chair of the Workers’ Compensation Section of the Maryland Defense Counsel.

Howard L. Metz

Governor Hogan recently appointed Howard L. Metz to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission.  He began his term in January 2019.  Commissioner Metz received his undergraduate degree from American University and his Juris Doctor from Rutgers University.

Before joining the Commission, Commissioner Metz was a litigation attorney representing clients in state and federal courts in Maryland, the District of Columbia, Pennsylvania and New Jersey.  Prior to starting his own firm in Frederick, Maryland, Commissioner Metz was a non-equity partner & associate at Ashcraft & Gerel, LLP from 1987 – 2000.  Prior to that he was an associate at Jacobs, Todd & Bruso from 1985 – 1987.    He has also served as a court-appointed mediator by Circuit Court for Frederick County since 2000 and by Circuit Court for Washington County since 2008.

Commissioner Metz is involved in a plethora of pro bono and volunteer activities, including Frederick County Veterans’ History Project, Pro Bono & Justice for All Committee, and the Bar Association of Frederick County. 

Allan H. Kittleman

Governor Hogan recently appointed Allan H. Kittleman to the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission. He began his term in January 2019.  Commissioner Kittleman received his undergraduate degree from University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).  He obtained his Juris Doctor from the University of Maryland School of Law in 1988.

Before joining the Commission, then-attorney Kittleman was admitted to the Maryland Bar in 1988 and began his legal career as an associate with Smith, Somerville & Case. He was also an associate at Herwig & Humphreys, LLP from 1991 to 1996; he was promoted to partner in 1996 and left there in 2003.  In addition, he worked part-time for the law firm formerly known as Godwin, Erlandson, MacLaughlin, Vernon & Daney since 2008.

A Maryland native, Commissioner Kittleman is perhaps most well-known for his political life.  He was Howard County Executive from 2014 to 2018, a Maryland State Senator from 2004 to 2014 (representing the 9th district covering Howard and Carroll Counties) and State Senate Minority Leader from 2008 to 2011, and a member of the Howard County Council from 1998 to 2004.