In its February 2020 session, Virginia’s General Assembly made a change to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act. The following briefly summarizes the new amendment:
Under the new section 65.2-601.2, the employer will be required to provide a statement of intent in response to an employee’s claim within 30 days. When a claim is filed, the Commission will now order the employer, within 30 days of such order, to advise the employee whether the employer intends to (i) accept the employee’s claim, (ii) deny the employee’s claim, or (iii) if the employer lacks sufficient information from the employee or a third party to be able to accept or deny the claim.
If the employer intends to deny the claim, the response shall provide reasons for the denial, and if the employer is unable to accept or deny because of lack of sufficient information, the employer must identify the information needed from the employee or a third party to enable it to make such a determination.
Failure to make a timely response could result in a penalty.